I've been in Uganda for over a week now and have been involved in a few different project since I was last on here......

I visited a primary school in one of the slum areas of Kampala. The children here were absolutely amazing. Their school is a collection of small wooden shelters with a dirt floor and a few benches inside, and about 40 children all crammed inside a classroom. But what was incredible was how proud they are of their school and how eager they are to learn. There were so many blessings spending time at the school - being able to pick up a little person and cuddle them when they fell over and hurt themselves, sitting outside in the sunshine and singing songs, seeing the look of joy on a child's face after giving them a simple gift of a balloon or bouncy ball.

I spent a couple of days at a children's rehabilitation hospital in Kampala called Katalemwa Cheshire Children's Home. This is an amazing place which provides rehabilitation and therapy services to children from all across Uganda and sometimes neighbouring countries such as Sudan and Tanzania, who have problems such as cerebral palsy or who are recovering from major limb surgery. These places are rare in much of Africa but provide such an essential service. Understandably many of the children here get acute illnesses as well, but due to the complexity of their condition they are often unable to travel to an acute hospital to get help. I was told by the staff at the centre that they are unable to afford to employ a doctor there so basically just have to do without one. I was pretty speechless when I was told this and so it was wonderful to be able to provide some acute medical help for a couple of days. I saw a little 4 year old girl with cerebral palsy who had quite severe dehydration secondary to diarrhoea. I had some oral rehydration salts with me so was able to teach the mum how to mix these up and administer them to her daughter - something so simple but so essential. Whilst I was able to give a couple of days of my time to this amazing place, restock their cupboard with calpol, and provide a bit of education, it's hard to think that much of the time they are without medical help, and I pray that they are soon able to get a full time doctor there that they so badly need.

I spent some time at an orphanage for babies and children up to 4 years of age. I helped out with many of the jobs that have to be done at the orphanage - changing the children's beds, washing, feeding the children. I went into the nursery at one point and was immediately pounced on by about 10 toddlers all wanting cuddles. These children were all so beautiful and full of love and it's heartbreaking that they don't have their own family, but what's even more heartbreaking is that many of their mothers left them outside the gates of the orphanage not because they don't love them but because they want a better quality of life for them which they know they can't afford to provide - what amazing sacrificial love.

I also went back yesterday to the village where I spent some time at the start of my time here, and set up a mini medical clinic in the middle of the village amongst the mud huts. It was amazing to be welcomed so openly into these people's community and to be able to provide a medical service which they would otherwise have to walk for hours to get or just go without altogether.

Today is a well needed day of rest before it all starts again tomorrow!! This trip is one of the most challenging things I have ever done and there have been many times when I have felt quite overwhelmed but it's a real blessing to be able to spend this time in Uganda and thank you all so much for your continued prayers and support :)

Tony & Margaret Moore (fr BCC)
9/11/2013 12:12:11 am

Thanks so much for your blog, trust the rest of your time is a blessing, we remember you in prayer.

Reply



Leave a Reply.