So, it’s now just 17 days until I leave for Uganda!! Saying I’m excited doesn’t quite cover it!

I’ve been absolutely overwhelmed by the generosity of people donating money to this project. So far I’ve bought 50 colouring books, 50 packets of crayons, over 300 satchets of calpol, numerous tubes of ringworm cream, rehydration salts, toothbrushes, and I still have lots of money left to buy things like antibiotics and anti-malarials when I get to Uganda so THANK YOU!! :)
 
I’ve recently received an itinerary of the 2 weeks I’m going to be spending in Uganda with a bit more detail of what I’m going to be doing – I’ll be spending a couple of days at an orphanage, visiting some primary schools, doing some medical outreach work in a village, and I’ll also be spending a few days working at a children’s rehabilitation hospital in Kampala. I’m anticipating it to be an extremely busy time and I’ve been advised to sleep as much as I can in the couple of days before I leave!

I’ve also had some more conversations with a few different people around the topic if “why are you doing this?”. I must admit there are times in the business and stressfulness of work here that I think a relaxing beach holiday sounds quite appealing but then I’m reminded of what an amazing opportunity this is – medical things aside, what an amazing opportunity to serve God and to share his love with others who otherwise might not know it. As much as I’d love to sunbathe by the beach for 2 weeks, so much more I want to use this time to try and make a difference, even if it is just to one person, and follow this calling God has given me.

I came across this amazing quote from Mother Teresa when I was reading the other day and wanted to share it on here:

“ Be kind and merciful. Let no one ever come to you without coming away better and happier. Be the living expression of God’s kindness: kindness in your face, kindness in your eyes, kindness in your smile, kindness in your warm greeting. In the slums we are the light of God’s kindness to the poor. To children, to the poor, to all who suffer and are lonely, give always a
happy smile – give them not only your care, but also your heart”. 





Leave a Reply.